3D contoured hearts and soft jaws

This tutorial is meant as a “how-to” on how to make these hearts on your mill and can be used by beginners to go through the motions of making a part without having to learn CAD/CAM right away. I did this project on a 770 but this can be done on any of our mills.
It is worth noting here that I am also relatively new to CNC machining at the time of writing this so I recognize that there are likely ways that I can make this better and faster but I haven’t learned those yet.

What you will need:

Files

These are not listed in the write up but use a 1/4" Flat endmill instead of the radius end mill to create a neat shimmer effect on the surface. Otherwise, the workflow is identical.

Using what I learned from How to Mill a Sphere with Fusion 360 | Tormach 1100MX I created a tool path that uses the Ramp and Scallop paths to get the true shape of the original body. Notice the seam line where the two tool paths overlap.

--------------------------------- CAD ---------------------------------

A few things to note on the 3D body that this was derived from:

• The original file for this heart was pulled from Thingiverse and edited to my liking. That was so long ago that I won’t go into the details because I don’t remember them.
  • Due to this being a model originally meant for 3D printing the sides are “faceted” which will be evident on your final project.
  • I only have 1/2 of the final heart modeled here as I was able to “trick” CAM into making both sides by choosing the coordinate system of for both operations from the same orientation of the model.

--------------------------------- CAM ---------------------------------

The CAM is broken up into 3 parts (and I used conversational for one more small operation that I will address later).

Soft Jaws