Where to start with machining with CAM?

Hey there!

I purchased a new 1100Mx recently, my first step into CNC machining. I’ve been manual machining for 10 years now. I started with teaching myself G-code and now that I can make some basic parts, I want to start CAM machining. Ive been using CAD for 10 years and very proficient in that. I have Fusion 360 and some parts I want to make modeled.

I just have no idea where to start with CAM. Can anyone suggest a step by step process how I should go about learning? There seems to be a lot of information out there but its almost overwhelming trying to figur out how to start. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

I started with early NYC CNC videos and worked my way up. https://m.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL9tn9rGywKUW0K4_KIyCTKOFU8ELXzcnV

The above resources are very good. In addition, I have found Kevin at Mechanicaladvantage.com the most helpful as I improve my fusion 360 skills. Take a look at his videos here https://www.youtube.com/@MechanicalAdvantage/videos He also does training and was THE CAD/CAM trainer at NYCNC’s hands-on training when they were doing that.

Scott

1 Like

I am right there with you in terms of having parts modeled and struggling to turn chunks of metal into useful parts…

If you are using Fusion, I would strongly suggest that the most professionally developed training you can get your hands on, for free, will be everything you can find in the Autodesk training catalog:

It seems to be an iterative process. First time through, you are overwhelmed, then the more you use it and play with it, the less foreign it seems.