Mill Selection help request

Hi all, I’m new here and learning a lot about Tormach. I have decided to get a CNC mill and I am now working through what to get. I do not have a definite set of jobs for it, mostly hobbyist type stuff. I have recently started into the flight simulator rabbit hole so for a while anyway I’ll be using it to support those kinds of projects.

I have looked at most/all of the videos listed on this site and have looked at a lot of youtube stuff as well. I have some manual machining experience (hobbyist) and have a CNC plasma table that I am proficient in. I am proficient in Fusion 360 for CAD/CAM.

Now to the Tormachs; I am leaning towards the 1100 family as I want to get as much work envelope and power as I can but still stay in a “budget”. That said a tricked out 1100MX with some tooling today appears to be about 40K± There’s also the lower versions of the 1100 but the savings don’t look that great for stepping down.

The other consideration is a used machine. There is a 7 year old PNCN 1100 series 3 near me for sale for around 12K. It has the work envelope (roughly) but not the power or the other bells and whistles of the newer M and MX series. It’s a lot less money and would allow me to learn CNC milling, I guess the question for me having never used any of them is; do the differences between the newer machines and that older machine make enough difference to invest the additional dollars?

Thanks in advance.

Scott