Heart Box - Cherry wood and purple epoxy

Here’s my cherry wood heart box with purple epoxy. I’ve got some videos of me doing similar concepts over the years, but this is my first attempt at a pure organically shaped box, with the epoxy lined up in the middle. It takes quite a few operations to make them; I mill a “mold” out of wood, pour the epoxy, wait for it to dry, mill the outside of the box, flip it over, and mill the inside. Repeat for the lid…

This is about the max size I can do on my PCNC 1100; I’m maxed out on the y-axis. I really need a dedicated CNC router machine, like the 24R.

I’m working on a YouTube video of these, along with a PDF on how to re-create them.

Should I tag this holiday-gift? I made several of these for sale; someone bought this one as a holiday gift for someone else. I guess it is kind of not something I made to give away, so I won’t tag it!

7 Likes

Hi @corbin_dunn, that looks wonderful! The purple epoxy compliments the cherry ever so nicely!

-KS

1 Like

Wow. Please let us know when you put a video out on this. I would like to see this process in action.

I have watched you do these for years on IG. The recent lava colored one “your name” was very sweet looking. And the well sculpted matching lids you have added really make the projects stand out. Well done. A 24r router has been a great investment for me. Expensive but worth every penny.
The lowest spindle speeds are about only thing I often need to work around doing delicate wood objects. Long small dia cutters do not perform well on harder woods turning 10k rpm this can limit total depth of work material and still get good results. Still there is always ways to design, cam to work around any problem. Anyway great job.

2 Likes