First time 304 on PCNC 770. Any good tips?

Like the title says, I am about to cut some 304 stainless with my PCNC 770. I have a 1/2" 4 flute carbide endmill with a TiN coating, and full flood coolant. I am a manual machinist by trade so I am used to being able to feel what I am doing, so I am still trying to learn how to translate that into PathPilot and just my coding in general.

Are there any tips I need when CNC milling stainless with carbide that are different from doing it manually?

First off I would say that unless you are only facing, you will probably find that 1/2" diameter is a bit optimistic for a 770. 1/4" would be a more realistic size if you have the option to change out. One of the benefits of CNC over manual is the machine can move more than one axis at a time reliably. Are you only hand coding or are you able to utilize either the conversational in pathpilot or a cam software? Computer generated code will make creation of toolpaths that utilize the benefits of CNC much easier.

That being said, generally you are either going to be taking large radial cut and shallow axial cut or the reverse. The great thing about CNC is if it takes 25 minutes to run the tool path, you can do something else instead of turning wheels the whole time.

That is already helpful. Yes I do have 1/4" carbide i can use as well. The reason I went to the 1/2" is because the part is 6"x4"x1.5" with a lot to come off to get to size, and coming from a traditional manual machining background, I can just hear my old boss in the back of my head saying “what the F are you using such a small GD end mill for!?” so I am still trying to get out of that head space.

Well, you tell him you are not working with a 20 hp 8000# machine, so you need to use appropriate tooling. Plus 1/4" endmills are a lot less expensive so you can afford the learning curve better.

Are you going to be hand coding your tool path or are you using a computer to help you?

1 Like