Book release about Tormach 770MX mills - a personal journey

I took delivery of my Tormach 770MX in April 2021, as a complete newbie to the world of CNC machining. I enjoyed the experience of assembling it, learning how it worked, and making some interesting first parts so much, I decided to try to write a book about it. The result was published a year later and is called BLURRING THE EDGES.

I have had the pleasure to meet a few of the great people at Tormach in Wisconsin and see their operation up close and I am delighted to say their reaction to my book has exceeded all my expectations. In fact, they permitted me to use some of their brand images in high resolution, which has certainly brought the book vividly to life.

My 770MX is working brilliantly, but like in all large technical projects there were some snags along the way in getting to where I am, and I want to give a big ‘shout out’ to the engineers behind the scenes at Tormach who work tirelessly to solve these issues. Along the way, you can’t help the feeling you have gained a camaraderie with these people, and that’s an unusual thing when dealing with modern companies.

I know it is normally ‘poor show’ pushing your own products on a forum so, before I get shot down in flames, so to speak, I just wanted to say my book is very much a positive message hoping to reach out to those who are not sure whether or not to enter into this wonderful hobby, and the CEO, Daniel Rogge, has said he’s OK with it! (Just this time)

So here is a bit of a PRESS RELEASE

A new paperback was published in April this year, entitled ‘BLURRING THE EDGES’, and sub-titled ‘Buying, assembling, and teaching myself to use a Tormach® 770MX CNC milling machine: my journey from distinctly novice to relative competence’.