30,000rpm pulley

I want to make a pulley for my 1100mx to increase the spindle speed to 30,000 rpm. I will be using sub 1mm carbide end mills in bt30 holders. My main question is can the bearings, bt30 holder and magnetic encoder handle the higher rpm? The torque placed on the tool and spindle are very low and I am cutting brass. If the above isn’t feasible what other solution can maintain the existing spindle runout at the higher rpm?

Hi Harold, I am no expert on spindle bearings but I would tentatively suggest what you are proposing is well beyond the engineering of these particular bearings. Take a look on YouTube at the video made by VC Edge, that’s Jayson Van Camp, where he talks about the bearings and limitations, and then fully dismantles and rebuilds one. There are numerous examples online of people saying they have had premature failure of the bearings, possibly because they have run the spindle at full speed with no careful warm up period, maybe in a cold garage or outhouse, who knows. You do need to take care of these bearings. When you start talking about 30,000rpm, you need things like ceramic bearings, and maybe even air cooling, as far as I know.

Also, may I suggest, if you try this, you take precautions and wear some protective gear, just in case of catastrophic failure of the casting. There is a lot of energy - don’t forget the speed term is squared in all the formulae I’ve ever seen!

1 Like

There are spindle speeders and auxiliary spindles that would probably be a better option. I’m with Steve, I don’t believe the grease packed cartridge in the Tormach would not last very long.

I have been looking at BT-30 spindle speeders. The manufacturers said they are really designed for the kind of work you are describing (not what I was looking for).

1 Like

Hello Dr. Harold,